Changes Around Mullanpur Stadium Ahead of Punjab Kings IPL Matches

Maharaja Yadvindra Singh International Cricket Stadium

The stadium and the surrounding areas will go through some changes for Punjab Kings’s IPL matches against Sunrisers Hyderabad and other teams. 

The team will face off against Sunrisers Hyderabad on April 9 at the Maharaja Yadavindra Singh International Cricket Stadium at Mullanpur in New Chandigarh. Mohali Deputy Commissioner Aashika Jain declared the stadium along with its surrounding areas as a ‘no flying zone’ on Tuesday. 

No air activities will be held on April 9, 13, 18, and 21 for zero disturbance during the IPL matches scheduled on these dates. The decision was made under Section 144 of CrPC. It states that the executive authority of any state or territory can prohibit any activity in an area. 

All sorts of air activity would be completely prohibited. The stadium was recently built in 2022. It is now the new home stadium of the Punjab Kings in IPL.

It held its first match on March 23 for Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals. The stadium is named after Yadavindra Singh, the son of Maharaja of Patiala Bhupendrasingh Rajendrasingh. Despite being the son of Maharaja, he was an active cricketer in his youth. He was a part of the Indian Cricket team during a Test match in 1934. 

Earlier Punjab Cricket Association Stadium (PCA) in Mohali was the home stadium of the Punjab Kings. After the Mullanpur Stadium was built in 2022, the Punjab Kings played their first match at the stadium back in March this year. 

They had won their first match by four wickets against the Delhi Capitals on March 23. The coming match is their fifth match of IPL 2024. Till now PKBS has won 2 matches out of the four. 

Their second match at the stadium and overall fifth match will be an exciting one to see. The match will start at 7:30 pm on April 9. The ‘no flying zone’ is imposed for zero disturbance during the matches of  Punjab Kings at the stadium on the mentioned dates.

The team will play their next match on April 13 against Rajasthan Royals, then against Mumbai Indians on April 18, and lastly against Gujarat Titans on April 21. The other two matches will be held in Dharamshala. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *