Chandigarh Lok Sabha Polls 2024: From Voting Date to Candidates List – Everything You Need To Know

Chandigarh Lok Sabha Polls 2024: All You Need to Know

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 have been announced. The first phase of voting will be held on April 19. Elections are going to be held in 7 phases. People of Chandigarh, capital of Punjab & Haryana, will go to vote on 1 June. Elections are going to be conducted in Chandigarh in the last phase of elections. After polls are held on June 1, counting of votes will be held on june 4.

Currently, Kirron Kher from BJP holds the seat for Member of Parliament in Chandigarh. She beat Congress candidate Pawan Kumar Bansal in 2019. She beat Congress veteran Pawan Kumar Bansal by 46,970 votes. She secured 2,31,188 votes. Bansal, a distant second, got just 1,84,218 votes.

This year, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party will fight elections jointly so as to avoid vote splitting. The last date of filing nominations is May 14.

Chandigarh Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Registered Voter List

As per the stats by Election Commission, Chandigarh has a total of 6.47 lakh voters, among whom, 3.35 lakh are males, 3.12 lakh are females and 33 third gender voters.Of the total voters, 15,006 individuals are first-time voters in the age group 18-19 while 4,799 are voters above 85 years of age.

Chandigarh Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Top Candidates

While Kirron Kher will be contesting from BJP in 2024 Lok Sabha polls, the INDIA block has yet to announce their candidate. As per the arrangements, AAP will not be fielding its candidate in Chandigarh. There are 3 names in the race for getting election ticket –

  • Pawan Kumar Bansal
  • Harmohinder Singh Lucky
  • Manish Tewari


Divjot Singh

A Web Developer but likes to call himself Spiderman. Interest include cycling, travelling and watching YouTube in free time. A part-time blogger. Working on as Writer and Administrator.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *